FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Executive Director of VIA

Biography

INNOVATION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe

PRATICAL INFORMATIONS
VIA Gallery

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Metro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Opening :

monday-friday : 9.30am – 6.30pm

FOLLOW US ON...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Sylvain Dubuisson : Get out of my sun

Sylvain Dubuisson exhibition at the VIA gallery
Pursuing his poetical, philosophical and technical approach to design, Sylvain Dubuisson has mounted an exhibition of twenty pieces with a scenography articulated around an architectural installation - Diogenes. This monumental cylindrical structure (5 m in diameter) that seems to float in space was purpose-designed, the intention being to infiltrate the architecture of the VIA gallery as a volume in a volume.

Diogenes is a fiction, a utopia that reflects the real and everyday necessity of having to live in spaces with small dimensions - a reality that is one of the prime targets of VIA research programmes. From the outside, its shell wrapped in a translucent skin suggests the image of a barrel as much as a theatre set. Visitors enter at first level using walk-up gangways like those of a boat, the lowest level, which is for rest, is accessible via a trapdoor built into the first level floor.

Aesthetics aside, the painstaking arrangement of the interior layout of Diogenes is designed to be perceived in context as a minimal living space. While responding to norms for security, hygiene and preservation of the environment, Dubuisson proposes an alternative view of ways of living - modes that in fact transgress the normative framework. For example, the bedroom, or rather the bed, which is on the uppermost level (accessible by stairs built into a column), is in metamorphosis, simultaneously enlarging and confining like a snail shell. It provides the user with a backrest, so the bed becomes a lounge space. Whatever the spatial configuration, everything can be used in equivocal function: ‘Everything goes together without getting in the way’… Structure and fit-out furniture interact.

Diogenes also enables users to experiment positions of relaxation on the floor, the lower curve of the cylinder lending itself to the use of comfort accessories that are flexible enough to allow deformations and rigid enough to support body posture in laid-back mode. An experimental living space, Diogenes is also a cabinet of curiosities.

Elsewhere in the 300 m² of exhibition space in the VIA gallery other pieces on display are eloquently enhanced by drawings, which for Sylvain Dubuisson constitute ‘a language… but which also sectorize representation, codifying it…’

They include ‘historic’ pieces like the ‘Composite table’ (1987), made of carbon fibre, a marvel of weightlessness, or the «L’Aube et le temps qu’elle dure» chair (1987), which upends the classic scheme of weight-bearing legs. More recent works include the «Douce amère» table (2003), with its name etched in the centre of its top and whose round legs feature phials that contain legendary plants such as mandrake, hemlock, belladonna and fly-agaric. There is also the ‘MDW’ desk (2004), whose thin aluminium plateau resting on four points of a surbased vault caisson represents a synthesis of Dubuisson’s formal and technological research since 1987.



Sylvain Dubuisson, architect & designer
creators. He qualified at the school of architecture in Tournai (Belgium) and descends from a line of architects. His father was from Lille and his mother from Bordeaux. Born in 1946, Dubuisson is one of the most atypical creators of his generation. Blending a taste for advanced technologies with the precision of the craftsman, he has designed a wide range of objects and pieces of furniture as well as spaces: from ewer to standing lamp, from minister’s armchair to bishop’s seat, from a pen etched with the handwriting of Rimbaud to dishware in virginal porcelain, and from rehabilitated social housing to layouts for museum, church and luxury boutiques, not to forget exhibition scenography and the creation of urban furniture… A diversity that shows to what extent architecture and design are inseparable for him.

Drawing presides over each of Sylvain Dubuisson’s projects and is also part of his daily practise. ‘The hand thinks and carries all the grandeur and imperfection of sensitivity’, he remarks. This is how spirals come to figure in the legs of armchairs, torsades in candle-sticks or carafes, and volutes in stairs. Another constant in his work is literary reference. Each one of his lamps carries a line or a thought: «Beaucoup de bruit pour rien» refers to an inventory by Kafka, «Applique A4» contains a poem by Robert Musil. And there is also the «Lettera amorosa» vase, etched with verses by René Char.

Past master in handling industrial constraints, Dubuisson explores the possibilities of new technologies. ‘Matter enables us to reveal interiority’, he says, ‘and bring about a shift’. The ‘Composite table’ (1987) is one of the earliest and best examples of this. In works in which the material and the spiritual combine, Sylvain Dubuisson transmits ‘discourse that is sometimes clear, sometimes fragmentary, sometimes occult, and which records awareness of our daily reality.’

Most recent works
• Rue Watt, Paris 13, urban lighting with Bruno Fortier, architect, and Louis Clair, lighting engineer, in progress
• Bernardaud, ‘Anno’ coffee cup, 2008 + limited series dishes for Art Meets Matter, New York, 2009
• Dupont Café, Paris, layout in collaboration with Sandra Carigliano, interior architect, 2009
• European Parliament, Brussels, scenography of atrium and layout of salons for French Presidency, 2008
• Cartier Ginza, Tokyo, renovation of façade, 2007



Special thanks to our partners : Krono France, KronoBois, One Event
This project was mounted thanks to financing by VIA and a private sponsor, with the support of One Even production society.


Scenography : Yves Gradelet (architect, scénographer - in charge of exhibitions)

Technical coordination : Laurent Roussel

Press : Pauline Lacoste - lacoste@mobilier.com - t. +33(0)1 46 28 11 11 - f. +33(0)1 46 28 13 13


Practical informations

Sylvain Dubuisson : Ôte-toi de mon soleil"
Show runs 04 September to 13 December 2009
VIA Gallery 29, avenue Daumesnil 75012 Paris
Ph. : +33 (0)1 46 28 11 11
Exhibition open every day :
Monday to Friday 9h30 am - 6h30 pm
Saturday / Sunday 1 pm / 6 pm
Free admission

HD images

NB : The images are strickly limited to the presentation and promotion of the corresponding event.
All use of images must be accompanied by the mentioned copyright.
VIA is not responsible for misuse of images.

Procedure for HD downloads

1/ Open the picture by clicking on its tag.
2/ It will then open in a new window.
3/ Right click on the image.
4/ Select "save to".

magazine rack table in plexiglass & stainless steel (Education Nationale)
© VIA

mahogany veneered desk with structure in plywood, leather desk blotter
© VIA

living unit
© VIA

living unit
© VIA

living unit
© VIA

living unit
© VIA

living unit
© VIA

living unit
© VIA

living unit
© VIA

chair in curved aluminium sheet, leather cover
© VIA

stackable rocking chair in plywood & birch
© VIA

Top

FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Directeur Général du VIA

Biographie

LETTRE DE L'INNOVATION

Consultez-la

INFOS PRATIQUES
Galerie VIA

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Métro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Horaires :

lundi-vendredi : 9h30-18h30

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Sylvain Dubuisson : Ôte-toi de mon soleil

Une exposition de Sylvain Dubuisson au VIA
Fidèle à son approche à la fois poétique, philosophique et technique, Sylvain Dubuisson propose une exposition de 20 pièces dont la scénographie s’articule autour d’une pièce architecturale : Diogène. Cette structure cylindrique monumentale de 5 mètres de diamètre qui semble flotter dans l’espace a été conçue pour la circonstance avec, comme première intention,
celle de s’inscrire dans l’architecture du VIA, créant ainsi cette impression de volume dans un volume.

Diogène est une fiction, une utopie, qui répond à la nécessité réelle et actuelle de devoir vivre dans des espaces aux dimensions réduites. Cette question est l’une des préoccupations des programmes de
recherche du VIA. De l’extérieur, cette coquille enveloppée d’une peau translucide suggère certes l’image du tonneau mais également le décor d’un théâtre. On pénètre directement au premier niveau par des passerelles de bateau, le niveau inférieur consacré au repos étant accessible par une trappe intégrée dans le plancher du premier étage.

L’organisation minutieuse de l’aménagement intérieur de Diogène doit être appréciée dans un contexte d’espace de vie minimal et par delà la valeur esthétique. Dès lors tout en répondant aux normes en matière de sécurité, d’hygiène, de préservation de l’environnement…, Sylvain Dubuisson propose une vision alternative des modes de vie qui précisément transgressent les cadres normatifs. Ainsi, la chambre, ou plutôt le lit, qui occupe le deuxième niveau (accessible par un escalier inséré dans une colonne), se métamorphose, s’agrandit et se referme comme une coquille permettant à chacun de s’adosser : le lit devient alors espace de réception.Quelque soit le contexte spatial, tout est donc utilisable dans une fonctionnalité équivoque, « tout est ensemble sans que l’un gêne l’autre »… Structure et mobilier se confondent.

Diogène permet également d’expérimenter des positions de détente au sol, la courbe basse du cylindre induisant de recourir à des accessoires de confort à la fois souples pour supporter les déformations et rigides pour tenir la posture corporelle dans sa nonchalance. Diogène constitue ainsi, en tant qu’espace expérimental, un véritable cabinet de curiosités.

Sur les 300 mètres carrés d’exposition du VIA, d’autres pièces seront mises en valeur sur fond de dessins d’une grande éloquence qui, pour Sylvain Dubuisson, sont « un langage… mais aussi sectorisent la représentation, la codifient… »

Parmi ces pièces, figurent des pièces historiques comme «la table composite » (1987), à base de fibre de carbone, un miracle d’apesanteur, ou comme la chaise « L’Aube et le temps qu’elle dure » (1987) qui bouscule le schéma classique des pieds porteurs. Parmi les pièces les plus récentes, citons la table « Douce amère » (2003) dont le nom est gravé au centre du plateau, lequel repose sur des pieds ronds contenant des fioles de plantes légendaires comme la mandragore, la cigüe, la belladone et l’amanite tuemouche. Quant au bureau «MDW», qui date de 2004, dont le mince plateau en aluminium repose en quatre points sur une structure à caissons en voûte surbaissée, il synthétise l’ensemble des recherches formelles et technologiques menées par Sylvain Dubuisson depuis 1987.



Sylvain Dubuisson, architecte et designer
Architecte et designer, Sylvain Dubuisson n’appartient à aucune école ou famille de créateurs. Diplômé de l’Ecole d’architecture de Tournai en Belgique, descendant d’une lignée d’architectes lillois par son père et bordelais par sa mère, Sylvain Dubuisson, né en 1946, est l’un des créateurs les plus singuliers de sa génération. Alliant le goût des technologies de pointe et la précision de l’artisan, il est l’auteur d’une grande diversité d’objets et de meubles ainsi que d’espaces : de l’aiguière au lampadaire, du fauteuil de ministre au siège épiscopal, du stylo porteur de l’écriture de Rimbaud à la vaisselle de porcelaine virginale, de la réhabilitation de logements sociaux à l’aménagement d’un musée, d’une église, de boutiques de luxe, de la scénographie d’une exposition à la création de mobilier urbain… Cette diversité démontre aussi que architecture et design sont chez Sylvain Dubuisson indissociables.

Le dessin qui préside dans chacun de ses projets fait également partie du quotidien de Sylvain Dubuisson. « La main pense et porte en elle, dit-il, toute la grandeur et l’imperfection de la sensibilité ». On voit ainsi apparaître la spirale dans les pieds des fauteuils, la torsade des bougeoirs et des carafes, la volute d’un escalier. Une autre constante de son oeuvre est la référence littéraire. Chacune de ses lampes est ainsi chargée d’une parole, d’une pensée : «Beaucoup de bruit pour rien » recèle un inventaire de Kafka, « Applique A4 » donne à lire notamment un poème de Robert Musil. Il en est de même pour le vase « Lettera amorosa », gravé d’un poème de René Char.

Maîtrisant parfaitement les contraintes industrielles, Sylvain Dubuisson explore toutes les possibilités des nouvelles technologies. « Le matériau permet, souligne t-il, de révéler l’intériorité, de provoquer le basculement. » A ce titre, « La Table composite », réalisée en 1987, en est l’un des premiers et des plus parfaits exemples. Ainsi, à travers une oeuvre où matériel et spirituel s’unissent, Sylvain Dubuisson transmet « un discours parfois clair, parfois ténu, parfois occulte, qui transcrit la conscience de notre quotidienneté. »

Réalisations les plus récentes
• Rue Watt, Paris, éclairage urbain avec Bruno Fortier, architecte, et Louis Clair, éclairagiste, en cours
• Bernardaud, tasse à café «Anno» 2008 + plats série limitée pour Art Meets Matter, New York, 2009
• Dupont Café, Paris, aménagement en collaboration avec Sandra Carigliano, architecte d’intérieur, 2009
• Parlement Européen, Bruxelles, scénographie de l’atrium et aménagement des salons de la Présidence Française, 2008
• Cartier Ginza, Tokyo, rénovation de la façade, 2007



Remerciements à nos partenaires :

Krono France, KronoBois, One Event

Scénographie : Yves Gradelet (architecte, scénographe - responsable des expositions)

Régie : Laurent Roussel

Relations presse : Pauline Lacoste - lacoste@mobilier.com - tél. 01 46 28 46 74 - fax 01 46 28 13 13


Informations pratiques

Sylvain Dubuisson : Ôte-toi de mon soleil"
Du 04 septembre au 13 décembre 2009
Galerie VIA 29, avenue Daumesnil 75012 Paris
Téléphone : +33 (0)1 46 28 11 11
Exposition ouverte tous les jours :
lun.-ven. 9h30h - 18h30
samedi / dimanche 13h -18h
entrée libre

Téléchargements

Communiqué de presse

Images à télécharger

NB : Les photographies sont uniquement destinées à la présentation ou à la promotion de l'événement auquel elles se rapportent.
Les photographies utilisées doivent obligatoirement mentionner le copyright indiqué.
VIA décline toute responsabilité si ces conditions ne sont pas respectées.

Mode d'emploi

1/ Ouvrir le visuel en cliquant sur la vignette.
2/ Le visuel apparait dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
3/ Effectuer un clic droit sur ce visuel.
4/ Choisir "enregistrer sous".

(01) 89
design Sylvain DUBUISSON
1990
bureau en placage sur structure en contreplaqué acajou, sous main cuir
© VIA

(02) NM
design Sylvain DUBUISSON
2009
chaise empilable à bascule en contreplaqué et bouleau
© VIA

(03) L'AUBE ET LE TEMPS QU'ELLE DURE
design Sylvain DUBUISSON
1987
chaise en tôle aluminium cintrée, gainage cuir
© VIA

(04)  design Sylvain DUBUISSON
2000
table porte revue en plexiglas et inox (Education Nationale)
© VIA

(05) DIOGENE
design Sylvain DUBUISSON
2009
unité d'habitation
© VIA

(06) DIOGENE
design Sylvain DUBUISSON
2009
unité d'habitation
© VIA

(07) DIOGENE
design Sylvain DUBUISSON
2009
unité d'habitation
© VIA

(08) DIOGENE
design Sylvain DUBUISSON
2009
unité d'habitation
© VIA

(09) DIOGENE
design Sylvain DUBUISSON
2009
unité d'habitation
© VIA

(10) DIOGENE
design Sylvain DUBUISSON
2009
unité d'habitation
© VIA

(11) DIOGENE
design Sylvain DUBUISSON
2009
unité d'habitation
© VIA

Top