FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Executive Director of VIA

Biography

INNOVATION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe

PRATICAL INFORMATIONS
VIA Gallery

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Metro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Opening :

monday-friday : 9.30am – 6.30pm

FOLLOW US ON...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Le Berlin des Créateurs

To mark the 20th anniversary of the cultural co-operation agreement between Paris and Berlin, both capitals will be staging events this summer and autumn 2007.

Among the wealth of projects, which include concerts and presentations of guest artists, the partner cities will be mounting in parallel two offbeat exhibitions. At the Murkisches Museum in Berlin, ‘Design Reference Paris’ presents a panorama of Parisian design, from 20 September to 4 November 2007. In Paris, « Le Berlin des Créateurs » gives a comprehensive overview of the design scene in Berlin and of the trends of the moment. The Paris show is at the VIA gallery (Valorisation de l’Innovation dans l’Ameublement) from 3 October to 16 December. Mayor of Paris Bertrand Delanoë, with mayor of Berlin Klaus Wowereit, open both shows: ‘Design Reference Paris’ in Berlin on 19 September, and « Le Berlin des Créateurs » in Paris on 2 October.

The ‘Berlin creators’ show was mounted by Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH, working to a commission from the Lander of Berlin, and supported by the Deutsche Klassenlotterie foundation. Designers and their objects form the core of the show. According to design observers, the political and economic situation in Berlin has brought into being a climate that has stimulated young creators. Years of industrial regression (in West Berlin before the fall of the Wall, and both sides since then) have forced designers to look beyond the expectations and needs of industrial makers. This questioning of design focused on industrial imperatives has fostered new creation procedures that have a non-commercial bias.

The team behind Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH (Thomas Friedrich, Kathrin Kohle, Wolf Kuhnelt, Georg von Wilcken), backed by a group of experts (Atilano Gonzalez, Designmai / Professors Ralf Rautenberg and Helmut Staubach of the Kunsthochschule Wei§ensee / Professors Egon Chemaitis and Valeska Schmidt-Thomsen of the Universität der Künste, Berlin) selected 19 design agencies and fashion studios for « Le Berlin des créateurs » :

Object design:

Adam und Harborth / Studio Aisslinger / Julian Appelius / Delphin-Design / e27 / Fuchs und Funke / Hering Berlin / L.ufer und Keichel / Metrofarm / Osko und Deichmann / Barbara Schmidt (Kahla Porzellan)

Fashion:

Bless Office Berlin / c.neeon / Elena Kikina / Frank Leder / Pulver Studio / Karen Scholz und Joan Tarrag. Pampanola / Trippen GmbH

The exhibition

The Berlin show proposes a specific environment for creators: a context in constant change and movement that effaces the border-lines between painters, designers, scientific people, graphic artists, engineers and young entrepreneurs. For example, the differences between fashion designers and designers of objects are seen as being of secondary importance. The strong attraction of the Berlin design scene is linked to the spirit of initiative of its players. These are people who push aside rules and conventions to project concepts that challenge established norms. Many different issues are raised by the artists. The exhibition is not about mainstream design: it is a confrontation with the expectations of the public in an attempt to imagine the future together.

Giant screens will display series of photo portraits of creators and impressions of their work places. The photo reports were commissioned from photographer Jan Sobottka ( www.catonbed.de ) and will be shown in continuous mode.
An 80-page magazine will accompany « Le Berlin des Créateurs », containing articles on the design and culture scene in the German capital, a catalogue of the designers and creators presented in the show, as well as useful information and contact addresses.

Scenography : Yves Gradelet (architect, scénographer - in charge of exhibitions)

Press : Elsa Sarfati - via.presse @mobilier.com - t. +33(0)1 46 28 11 11 - f. +33 (0)1 46 28 13 13


Practical informations


'Le Berlin des Créateurs' exhibition
Open every day :
Monday to Friday 10 am – 1 pm / 2 pm – 6 pm
Saturday / Sunday 1 pm / 6 pm
Free admission

HD images

NB : The images are strickly limited to the presentation and promotion of the corresponding event.
All use of images must be accompanied by the mentioned copyright.
VIA is not responsible for misuse of images.

Procedure for HD downloads

1/ Open the picture by clicking on its tag.
2/ It will then open in a new window.
3/ Right click on the image.
4/ Select "save to".

"Roundabout" memory game, courtesy "Siebensachen", 2005
© DR

"N°31 SweaterCenterPerlpad"
© DR

"V22" coat rack, 2006
© DR

"re-flex" hanging lamp, 2006
© DR

"Papton" cardboard chair, 2004
© DR

"Cielo" dish, "Velvet" & "Puls" plates, 2005
© DR

"Soft X" conference chair, 2007
© DR

Afrika, S/S 2007 coll.
© DR

"Concrete table", "concrete bench", 2002
© DR

"Abyss" lamp, 2006
© DR

"Margarita and the master", 07/08 S/S coll.
© Ö. Albayrak

"Gap chair", 2007
© DR

"Blade", "x+os" S/S 07 coll.
© DR

"Meine Mutter schneidet Speck" rings, 2007
© DR

A/W 06/07 coll.
© S. Fujii

2006
© H. Laschitzki

"Left or Right BIG" reading lamp, 2007
© DR

Top

FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Directeur Général du VIA

Biographie

LETTRE DE L'INNOVATION

Consultez-la

INFOS PRATIQUES
Galerie VIA

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Métro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Horaires :

lundi-vendredi : 9h30-18h30

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Le Berlin des Créateurs

A l’occasion du 20 ème anniversaire de l’accord de coopération entre Paris et Berlin, les deux métropoles organisent, de l’été à l’automne 2007, une multitude de projets culturels dans chacune des villes partenaires.

Parallèlement aux concerts, présentations d’artistes invités et autres événements, cet échange culturel est aussi l’occasion d’organiser deux expositions inédites : Au « Märkisches Museum » à Berlin « Design Reference Paris » présente un panorama du design parisien, du 20 septembre au 4 novembre 2007. Parallèlement, « Le Berlin des Créateurs » donne une vue globale et représentative de la scène du design berlinois et des tendances actuelles dans ce domaine. L’exposition est présentée dans la galerie VIA (Valorisation de l’Innovation dans l’Ameublement) du 3 octobre au 16 décembre 2007 à Paris.

Bertrand Delanoë, maire de Paris et Klaus Wowereit, maire de Berlin, inaugurent « Design Reference Paris » , à Berlin, le 19 septembre et « Le Berlin des Créateurs », à Paris, le 2 octobre.
Le projet berlinois est organisé par « Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH », commissionné par le Land de Berlin, avec le soutien de la fondation « Deutsche Klassenlotterie ».
Les créateurs du design et leurs objets se trouvent au centre de l’exposition « Le Berlin de Créateurs ». Selon les professionnels du design, la situation politique et économique de Berlin a créé un climat exceptionnel, propice aux jeunes designers. Les décennies de régression industrielle (d’abord à Berlin-Ouest avant la chute du mur, puis dans tout Berlin) leur ont permis de s’affranchir des attentes et des besoins de l’industrie. Cette remise en question d’un design plutôt tourné vers les industries a entraîné de nouvelles méthodes de création concentrées sur l’aspect non-commercial.

L’équipe organisatrice de Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH (Thomas Friedrich, Kathrin Kohle,Wolf K.hnelt et Georg von Wilcken), soutenue et conférée par un groupe d’experts (Atilano Gonzalez, Designmai / Prof. Ralf Rautenberg et Prof. Helmut Staubach, Kunsthochschule Wei§ensee / Prof. Egon Chemaitis et Prof. Valeska Schmidt-Thomsen, Universität der Künste, Berlin) a choisi 19 bureaux de design et ateliers de mode pour l’exposition « Le Berlin des créateurs » :

Design d’objets

Adam und Harborth / Studio Aisslinger / Julian Appelius / Delphin-Design / e27 / Fuchs und Funke / Hering Berlin / Läufer und Keichel / Metrofarm / Osko und Deichmann / Barbara Schmidt (Kahla Porzellan)

Mode

Bless Office Berlin / c.neeon / Elena Kikina / Frank Leder / Pulver Studio / Karen Scholz und Joan Tarragó Pampanola / Trippen GmbH

L’exposition

Berlin propose un environnement particulier pour les créateurs : un contexte en perpétuel bouleversement et mouvement. Ils ignorent souvent les frontières entre peintres, designers, scientifiques, graphistes, ingénieurs et créateurs d’entreprise. Le cloisonnement entre créateurs de mode et designers d’objet est donc à leurs yeux une préoccupation secondaire. La fascination exercée par la scène du design berlinois est fortement liée à l’esprit d’initiative de ses acteurs. Ils osent s’affranchir des règles et des conventions et mettent en place des concepts qui bouleversent les normes établies. Un grand nombre des problématiques sont posées par les artistes eux-mêmes. Ainsi, l’exposition ne montrera pas un design « mainstream » mais cherchera plutôt une confrontation avec les attentes du public afin d’imaginer, ensemble, notre futur.

Dans l’exposition, des écrans géants montreront des séries de photos composées de portraits de créateurs et d’impressions de leurs lieux de création. Ces photos ont été prises spécialement par le photographe Jan Sobottka (www.catonbed.de) et seront diffusées en boucle.
Un magazine de 80 pages accompagnera « Le Berlin des Créateurs ». Celui-ci contiendra des articles sur la scène actuelle du design et de la culture à Berlin, un catalogue des designers et créateurs qui seront présents dans l’exposition ainsi que des renseignements et adresses utiles.


Scénographie : Yves Gradelet (architecte, scénographe - responsable des expositions)

Relations presse : Elsa Sarfati - via.presse@mobilier.com - tél. 01 46 28 11 11 - fax 01 46 28 13 13


Informations pratiques

Exposition "Le Berlin des Créateurs"
Exposition ouverte tous les jours :
lun.-ven. 10h/13h –14h/18h
samedi / dimanche 13h – 18h
entrée libre

Images à télécharger

NB : Les photographies sont uniquement destinées à la présentation ou à la promotion de l'événement auquel elles se rapportent.
Les photographies utilisées doivent obligatoirement mentionner le copyright indiqué.
VIA décline toute responsabilité si ces conditions ne sont pas respectées.

Mode d'emploi

1/ Ouvrir le visuel en cliquant sur la vignette.
2/ Le visuel apparait dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
3/ Effectuer un clic droit sur ce visuel.
4/ Choisir "enregistrer sous".

ADAM UND HARBORTH  "Roundabout", jeu de mémoire, courtesy "Siebensachen", 2005
© DR

APPELIUS Julian
lampe de lecture "Left or Right BIG", 2007
© DR

BLESS  "N°31 SweaterCenterPerlpad"
© DR

DELPHIN DESIGN  portemanteau "V22", 2006
© DR

E27  suspension avec réflecteur "re-flect", 2006
© DR

FUCHS + FUNKE  chaise en carton "Papton", 2004
© DR

HERING BERLIN  coupes "Cielo", assiettes "Velvet" et "Puls", 2005
© DR

KIKINA Elena
2006
© H. Laschitzki

LÄUFER + KEICHEL  chaise de conférence "Soft X", 2007
© DR

LEDER  coll. P/E 2007, Afrika
© DR

METROFARM  "Concrete table", "concrete bench", 2002
© DR

NEEON C.
coll. A/H 06/07
© S. Fujii

OSKO + DEICHMANN  lampe "Abyss", 2006
© DR

PULVER  coll. A/H 07/08, "Margarita and the Master"
© Ö. Albayrak

SCHMIDT Barbara
bagues "Meine Mutter schneidet Speck", 2007
© DR

STUDIO AISSLINGER  chaise "Gap chair", 2007
© DR

TRIPPEN  "Blade", coll. "x+os", P/E 07
© DR

Top