FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Executive Director of VIA

Biography

INNOVATION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe

DESIGN EVENTS CALENDAR
PRATICAL INFORMATIONS
VIA Gallery

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Metro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Opening :

monday-friday : 9.30am – 6.30pm

FOLLOW US ON...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Robert STADLER

Contact : 8, rue Saint Marc 75002 Paris - France

Ph. +33 1 48 74 59 81 / +33 1 42 80 27 52

info@robertstadler.net
www.robertstadler.net
 
environmental designer, interior architect, industrial designer, scenographer, teacher, artist

Robert Stadler was born in 1966 in Vienna, Austria. He trained at the Istituto Europeo di Design in Milan and at the ENSCI in Paris, where he co-founded the RADI DESIGNERS group in 1992. For more than 10 years the group turned its creativeness to the most varied fields, from an all-over installation at the Fondation Cartier for contemporary art to the design of a meal tray for Air France.

In the year 2000, with an eye to re-appropriating space for free and personal research, in parallel to his activity within the group Robert Stadler decided to go solo.
In 2001 he took part in the “Un art populaire” exhibition at the Fondation Cartier. The following year he won a FIACRE scholarship grant that enabled him to work for six months at the Santa Teresa artists’ residence in Rio de Janeiro. When he returned he presented “Frontalunterricht” in collaboration with Stefan Nikolaev at the Espace Paul Ricard in Paris. In 2004 the Austrian gallery KlausEngelhorn22 showed a selection of his work with that of Jurgen Bey and Konstantin Grcic in Milan and Vienna, in exhibitions entitled respectively “Vanishing Point 1 et 2”. That same year he presented “Lost and found” in Paris, a solo show to mark the reopening of the Galerie Dominique Fiat.

Robert Stadler uses exhibition spaces to transgress the usual categories for classifying objects. He questions the status of the object as work or product, as well as the border-lines between preciousness and usefulness, elegance and vulgarity, the serious and the absurd. By juggling with different levels of representation and perception he attempts to establish a more intense relationship between the object and its master, which may entail emancipating the latter from a state of apathetic contemplation or consumerism.
Robert Stadler lives and works in Paris and Rio de Janeiro.


furniture Tephra Formations
© David Brook

furniture Possible Furniture
© André Morin

restaurant Corso Place Franz Liszt (Paris)
© Marc Domage

chair & pedestal table Rest in peace #2
© André Morin

clock 24h Tanya
© Robert Stadler

table Negotable
© Patrick Gries

soundproofed cabin Pentaphone
© Patrick Gries

the best producer trophy Prix Daniel Toscan du Plantier
© Patrick Gries

ice bucket & pitcher Ricard
© Agence Emulsion

Christmas show windows Dior
© Marc Domage

elements Pools & Pouf !
© Patrick Gries

cut-out objects & furniture Do Cut
© B. Pilet

wall mirror +336+
© Patrick Gries

suspension Alquimista
© Patrick Gries

Top

FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Directeur Général du VIA

Biographie

LETTRE DE L'INNOVATION

Consultez-la

AGENDA DU DESIGN
INFOS PRATIQUES
Galerie VIA

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Métro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Horaires :

lundi-vendredi : 9h30-18h30

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Robert STADLER

Contact : 8, rue Saint Marc 75002 Paris - France

Tél. +33 1 48 74 59 81 / +33 1 42 80 27 52

info@robertstadler.net
www.robertstadler.net
 
designer d'environnement, architecte d'intérieur, designer industriel, scénographe, professeur, artiste

Robert Stadler est né en 1966 à Vienne en Autriche. Il poursuit ses études de design à l’Istituto Europeo di Design à Milan, puis à l’ENSCI à Paris où il co-fonde le groupe RADI DESIGNERS en 1992. Depuis plus de 10 ans le groupe s’affirme à travers des créations dans les domaines les plus variés, allant de l’installation à la Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain au design du plateau repas pour Air France.

Curieux de se reapproprier un espace de recherche libre et personnel, Robert Stadler décide en 2000 de développer son travail en solo parallèlement à son activité au sein du groupe.
En 2001 il participe à l’exposition “Un art populaire” à la Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain. Un an après il obtient la bourse du FIACRE et part pendant six mois travailler dans la résidence d’artistes de Santa Teresa à Rio de Janeiro. De retour il présente “Frontalunterricht” en collaboration avec Stefan Nikolaev à l’Espace Paul Ricard à Paris. En 2004 la galerie autrichienne KlausEngelhorn22 montre son travail avec Jurgen Bey et Konstantin Grcic à Milan et Vienne dans les expositions initulées respectivement “Vanishing Point 1 et 2”. Dans la même année il présente “Lost and found”, exposition personnelle marquand la reouverture de la Galerie Dominique Fiat à Paris.

Robert Stadler interpelle les lieux d’exposition pour brouiller les catégories usuelles de la classification d’objets. Il interroge le statut de l’objet, œuvre ou produit ainsi que la frontière entre préciosité et modicité, entre élégance et vulgarité, entre sérieux et absurde. Jongler avec les différents niveaux de représentation et perception vise à instaurer un rapport plus tendu entre l’objet et son maître, qu’il s’agit d’émanciper de cet état apathique de contemplation ou de consommation.
Robert Stadler vit et travaille à Paris et Rio de Janeiro.


mobilier Tephra Formations
© David Brook

mobilier Possible Furniture
© André Morin

restaurant Corso Place Franz Liszt (Paris)
© Marc Domage

chaise et guéridon Rest in peace #2
© André Morin

horloge 24h Tanya
© Robert Stadler

table Negotable
© Patrick Gries

cabine d'isolation phonique Pentaphone
© Patrick Gries

trophée du meilleur producteur Prix Daniel Toscan du Plantier
© Patrick Gries

seau à glace et broc Ricard
© Agence Emulsion

vitrines de Noël Dior
© Marc Domage

éléments Pools & Pouf !
© Patrick Gries

objets et mobilier à découper Do Cut
© B. Pilet

miroir mural +336+
© Patrick Gries

suspension Alquimista
© Patrick Gries

Top