FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Executive Director of VIA

Biography

INNOVATION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe

DESIGN EVENTS CALENDAR
PRATICAL INFORMATIONS
VIA Gallery

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Metro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Opening :

monday-friday : 9.30am – 6.30pm

FOLLOW US ON...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Marcel WANDERS

Contact : P.O. Box 11332 1001 GH Amsterdam - Pays-Bas

Ph. +31 (0)20 422 13 39

joy@marcelwanders.com
www.marcelwanders.com
 
Icon (UK) June 2005
“Marcel Wanders (…) was also responsible for the most talked-about party of the week: his Happy Hour Chandelier launch (. . .) Wanders is probably the hottest designer in the world right now and this was his year”

Washington Post (US) April 2003
“Marcel Wanders, the design world’s favorite star”

Tate magazine (UK) September/October 2002
“it is his ability to create a material identity from a series of disparate narratives, to get you to engage with a product through the stories it tells, that is part of the secret of his success”

Business Week (US) July 2002
“Europe’s hottest young designer”


Marcel Wanders grew up in Boxtel, the Netherlands, and graduated cum laude from the School of the Arts Arnhem in 1988. Currently, he is an independent industrial product designer operating from Amsterdam where he runs his own studio: Marcel Wanders studio. His studio designs products and interiors for the best international labels, including Moooi (of which he is art director), Cappellini, Bisazza, Moroso, Poliform, Droog Design, Flos, Mandarina Duck, B&B Italia, Vitra, Kartell, Cassina, and Boffi. He also works on architectural projects as well as interior design.

Marcel was the editor of the International Design Yearbook 2005. In the same year together with chef Peter Lute he created the new and extraordinary LUTE SUITES hospitality-concept, the first “all over city suites” hotel in the world. In September ‘Blits’ opened its doors, a new restaurant in Rotterdam for which Marcel designed the interior. Marcel also collaborates in other design-related projects such as the Vitra Summer Workshop where he has served as a project leader. He is among the first and most important designers of Droog design. He was a juror for various prizes like the Rotterdam Design Prize (for which his own products were nominated several times) and the Kho Liang Ie prize. He lectured at SFMoMA, Limn, the Design Academy, Nike, IDFA, FutureDesignDays and has taught at various design academies in the Netherlands and abroad. Currently Marcel is working on a monograph by Phaidon.

Various designs of Marcel Wanders have been selected for the most important design collections and exhibitions in the world, like the Museum of Modern Art in New York and San Francisco, the V&A Museum in London, the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, Museum Boijmans van Beuningen in Rotterdam, the Central Museum in Utrecht, Museum of Decorative Arts Copenhagen and various Droog Design exhibitions.

Coverage on Marcel has been published in all leading design magazines and newspapers such as Domus, Interni, Blueprint, Design Report, Frame, I.D. magazine, Arbitare, Surface, Wallpaper, Nylon, View on Colour, Elle decoration, Icon, Esquire, the International Herald Tribune, Washington Post, the Financial Times, the New York Times and Business Week.


Marcel Wanders has won various prizes and international awards such as:
Winner of the Elle Deco International Design Awards 2005 (seaters) for “Carbon chair”, design by Bertjan Pot and Marcel Wanders for Moooi
Nominated for the 2004 World Technology Award by The World Technology Network. In association with Nasdaq, Microsoft, Time Magazine and Science Magazine
Nominated as ‘Designer of the Year 2004’ for Blueprint magazine
Moooi received the 2003 FX-award for their collection
Awarded ‘Man of the year’ for Dutch MAN magazine 2002
Nominated for ‘designer of the year’ in WIRED magazine’s 2001 Wired Rave awards
Alterpoint Design Award 2000
George Nelson Award (Interiors magazine) 2000
Rotterdam Design Prize for the Knotted Chair



seats & side tables New Antiques

Bisazza Antelope

exhibition for Bisazza Soap Stars
© Ottavio

concept of suites layout Lute suites

multimedia products Home Electronics
© M. van Houten

chair Knotted chair
© R. Kavanagh

vases Snotty
© M. van Houten

Top

FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Directeur Général du VIA

Biographie

LETTRE DE L'INNOVATION

Consultez-la

AGENDA DU DESIGN
INFOS PRATIQUES
Galerie VIA

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Métro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Horaires :

lundi-vendredi : 9h30-18h30

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Marcel WANDERS

Contact : P.O. Box 11332 1001 GH Amsterdam - Pays-Bas

Tél. +31 (0)20 422 13 39

joy@marcelwanders.com
www.marcelwanders.com
 
Icon (GB) juin 2005
“Marcel Wanders (…) était aussi derrière la fête la plus réussie de la semaine : le lancement de son ‘Happy Hour Chandelier’ (. . .) Wanders est probablement le designer le plus demandé sur la scène mondiale en ce moment et cette année a été son année”.

Washington Post (US) avril 2003
“Marcel Wanders, le star préféré du monde du design”

Tate magazine (GB) septembre/octobre 2002
“le secret de son succès est en partie dû à sa capacité de créer une identité concrète avec des bribes d’histoires disparates, de faire en sorte que vous entrez en rapport avec le produit à travers l’histoire qu’il raconte”.

Business Week (US) juillet 2002
“le jeune designer le plus couru de l’Europe”




Marcel Wanders a grandi à Boxtel, aux Pays-Bas. Il étudie à l’Ecole des Arts d’Arnhem et sort avec un diplôme cum laude en 1988. Actuellement, il est designer industriel/produit indépendant basé à Amsterdam, à la tête de sa propre agence : le studio Marcel Wanders. Il crêe des produits et des aménagements intêrieurs pour les plus grandes marques internationales : Moooi (dont il est directeur artistique), Cappellini, Bisazza, Moroso, Poliform, Droog Design, Flos, Mandarina Duck, B&B Italia, Vitra, Kartell, Cassina et Boffi. Il travaille aussi sur des projets d’architecture et d’aménagement intérieur.

Marcel a assuré la ligne éditoriale de la International Design Yearbook 2005. C’est pendant cette même année qu’il crée avec le chef cordon bleu Peter Lute un nouveau concept pour l’hôtellerie, les extraordinaires LUTE SUITES, les premières “suites de ville intégrales” partout dans le monde. Au mois de septembre, le nouveau restaurant ‘Blits’ ouvre ses portes à Rotterdam, avec un intêrieur aménagé par ses soins. Il collabore aussi sur d’autres projets dans le monde du design, dont les Ateliers d’été Vitra, en tant que moniteur de projet. Il est un des premiers est des plus importants membres de Droog design. Il participe aux juries de plusieurs prix, dont le Rotterdam Design Prize (pour lequel ses propres produits ont plusieurs fois étaient proposées) et le prix Kho Liang. Il a enseigné et donné des conférences dans beaucoup d’établissments aux Pays-Bas et un peu partout dans le monde : SFMoMA, Limn, Design Academy, Nike, IDFA, FutureDesignDays. Il prépare une monographie sur son travail avec Phaidon.

Des créations signées Marcel Wanders ont été choisies pour figurer dans les plus importantes collections et expositions design dans le monde, comme le Museum of Modern Art de New York ainsi que celui de San Francisco, le V&A Museum de Londres, le Stedelijk Museum d’Amsterdam, le Museum Boijmans van Beuningen de Rotterdam, le Central Museum d’Utrecht, le Museum of Decorative Arts de Copenhague et – bien entendu – dans les nombreuses expositions de Droog Design.

Des articles sur Marcel ont paru dans les magazines et journaux design les plus connus : Domus, Interni, Blueprint, Design Report, Frame, I.D. magazine,
Arbitare, Surface, Wallpaper, Nylon, View on Colour, Elle decoration, Icon, Esquire, The International Herald Tribune, Washington Post, The Financial Times, The New York Times et Business Week.


Marcel Wanders a gagné divers prix internationaux, y compris le Elle Deco International Design Awards 2005 pour sa “Carbon chair”, créée par Bertjan Pot et Marcel Wanders pour Moooi
En 2004, il a été proposé pour la World Technology Award par la World Technology Network. Une association réunissant Nasdaq, Microsoft, Time Magazine et Science Magazine l’a élu ‘Designer of the Year 2004’ pour le magazine Blueprint.
Le prix 2003 FX est décerné à Mooi pour sa collection. En 2002, il a été élu ‘Man of the year’ par le magazine hollandais MAN.
En 2002, il a été élu ‘designer of the year’ par le magazine WIRED, dans ses ‘Wired Rave awards 2001’.
Alterpoint Design Award 2000
George Nelson Award (Interiors magazine) 2000
Rotterdam Design Prize pour la ‘Knotted Chair’



sièges & guéridons New Antiques

Bisazza Antelope

exposition pour Bisazza Soap Stars
© Ottavio

concept d'aménagement de suites Lute suites

produits multimédia Home Electronics
© M. van Houten

chaise Knotted chair
© R. Kavanagh

vases Snotty
© M. van Houten

Top