FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Executive Director of VIA

Biography

INNOVATION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe

DESIGN EVENTS CALENDAR
PRATICAL INFORMATIONS
VIA Gallery

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Metro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Opening :

monday-friday : 9.30am – 6.30pm

FOLLOW US ON...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

DIPLOMAT

Contact : 76 Uplands Road - Hornsey N8 9NJ London - Royaume-Uni

Ph. 0044 (0) 20 8342 5285 / 0044 (0)7870 648882

info@diplomat.org.uk
www.diplomat.org.uk
 
Diplomat is the design partnership of Ashley Hall and Matthew Kavanagh.

With a passion for furniture and a background in furniture, product, lighting and retail design, they first came to prominence with the ‘Micro Furniture’ range exhibited at 100% Design in 1999. This was quickly followed by showing at the Salone Satellite in the Milan furniture fair where they gained attention and projects from a range of Italian furniture and product manufacturers including Saporiti, Origlia, ArrMet, Bart Design, RSVP and Covo.
They have built on this success with recent furniture launches with Edra, Artifort. Sintesi and Zeritalia alongside consultancy projects in the USA, Australia and the UK.
Their studio is based in the East End of London where they research and develop their own ideas to place with like-minded manufacturers.


ASHLEY HALL

Born in Cardiff, Wales in 1967. Studied furniture design at Nottingham Trent University and the Royal College of Art, receiving his MA in 1992. He worked as a designer in the fields of furniture, product, lighting & interiors for a variety of design consultancies and manufacturers in London. In 1994 he established his own design consultancy in order to design mass produced furniture and develop his own collection of limited edition furniture pieces. His projects continued to develop his approach of using synthetic materials combined with liquid forms.
He also performs a design director role for a bathroom products manufacturer and is a visiting lecturer in product design at a number of UK Universities specialising in innovation strategy and visual language.


MATTHEW KAVANAGH

Matthew Kavanagh was born in England in 1966. He studied product design at The South Bank University graduating in 1988. Inspired by the Memphis design movement of the late 70’s / early 80’s Matthew moved to Italy to live and worked for Olivetti. This was at a time when personal computers had revolutionised their electronic typewriter market and Memphis designer George Sowden was designing their new hybrid products. After a year, during which time Olivetti patented his designs, Matthew returned to the UK to start his lighting and product design consultancy. In 1994 he began working for the first of several companies in the retail sector specialising in design, category management, POP display, interiors, brand communications & consumer psychology.
He also currently holds the position of director with Coutts, a group specialising in design and strategy for retailers and brands.


table Arc

folding trolley Austin

sofa Bone

lounge armchairs Dip chairs

dining chair Inglesia

micro furniture Kipling & Wishbone

dining / contract chair More

wine rack Omega

vase Parasite

contract chair Plus

vase Pocket

desk tidy Reef

dining / contract chair Smarter

stepladder Sonny

Top

FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Directeur Général du VIA

Biographie

LETTRE DE L'INNOVATION

Consultez-la

AGENDA DU DESIGN
INFOS PRATIQUES
Galerie VIA

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Métro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Horaires :

lundi-vendredi : 9h30-18h30

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

DIPLOMAT

Contact : 76 Uplands Road - Hornsey N8 9NJ London - Royaume-Uni

Tél. 0044 (0) 20 8342 5285 / 0044 (0)7870 648882

info@diplomat.org.uk
www.diplomat.org.uk
 
Diplomat est un partenariat qui réunit les designers Ashley Hall et Matthew Kavanagh.

Avec leur passion pour le mobilier design et leur expérience dans les domaines des meubles, des produits, des luminaires et des accessoires de vente, leur premier succès fut la gamme ‘Micro Furniture’ présenté à 100% Design en 1999. Peu de temps après une exposition au Salone Satellite pendant le salon du meuble de Milan leur a valu d’être remarqué par plusieurs firmes italiennes, fabricants de meubles ou de produits, si bien qu’ils entamèrent des projets avec Saporiti, Origlia, ArrMet, Bart Design, RSVP et Covo. Depuis, ils ont consolidé leur succès avec de récents lancements de meubles chez Edra, Artifort. Sintesi et Zeritalia et des projets de conseil aux USA, en Australie et au Royaume-Uni.
Leur studio est dans la East End de Londres ; c’est là qu’ils poursuivent leurs recherches et développent leurs propres idées en direction des fabricants qui partagent leurs convictions.



ASHLEY HALL

Né à Cardiff, Pays de Galles, en 1967. Etudie la création mobilier à la Nottingham Trent University et au Royal College of Art, d’où il sort avec une maîtrise en 1992. Il a travaillé en tant que designer de meubles, de produits, de luminaires et d’intérieurs pour plusieurs agences et fabricants à London. En 1994 il fonde une agence de conseil pour le design afin de pouvoir se lancer dans le mobilier de fabrication industrielle, tout en développant sa propre collection de mobilier en série limitée. Ses projets continuent cette approche en utilisant des matériaux synthétiques et des formes liquides.
Il est égalenent directeur artistique pour un fabrcant d’accessoires de salle de bain et professur invité (design produit) dans plusieurs universités britanniques specialisées dans les stratégies d’innovation et le langage visuel.


MATTHEW KAVANAGH

Matthew Kavanagh est né en Angleterre en 1966. Il étudie le design produit à la South Bank University d’où il sort diplômé en 1988. Inspiré par le design du groupe Memphis de la fin des années 70 et début 80, Matthew s’installe en Italie et travaille pour Olivetti. Cela s’est passé au moment où les fabricants d’ordinateurs personnels révolutionnent le marché du clavier électronique, et où le designer Memphis George Sowden crée de nouveaux produits hybrides. Après une année, durant laquelle Olivetti fait breveter ses créations, Matthew retourne en Angleterre afin de monter sa propre agence de conseil pour les luminaires et les produits. En 1994 il commence à travailler avec la première d’entre plusieurs firmes grand public, et se spécialise dans le design, la direction artistique par catégorie de produit, la PLV, l’architecture intérieure, la communication de marque et la psychologie des consommateurs.
Actuellement, il est aussi directeur pour Coutts, groupe spécialisé dans le design et la stratégie pour détaillants et labels.


table Arc

desserte pliante Austin

canapé Bone

fauteuils Dip chairs

chaise de salle à manger Inglesia

micro mobilier Kipling & Wishbone

chaise de collectivité More

casier à bouteilles Omega

vase Parasite

chaise de collectivité Plus

vase Pocket

vide poche Reef

chaise de collectivité Smarter

escabot Sonny

Top