FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Executive Director of VIA

Biography

INNOVATION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe

DESIGN EVENTS CALENDAR
PRATICAL INFORMATIONS
VIA Gallery

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Metro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Opening :

monday-friday : 9.30am – 6.30pm

FOLLOW US ON...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

ALMENGEST DESIGN

Contact : Hornsgatan 117 28 Stockholm - Suède

Ph. +46 8 15 71 11

tony@almengest.com
www.almengest.com
 
HISTORY

AlmenGest Design are Tony Almén (1963) and Peter Gest (1963). Not just great friends, they have been working together designing new products and interiors since 1991. For the home, office and public spaces. Among their client list you will find many Swedish and foreign companies who they have worked for designing everything from doorknobs to upholstered furniture.

AG first made their debut showing furniture in 1993. The collection consisted of self produced furniture and was shown in Stockholm in a public galleria. AG has since then participated in many shows until this date (See list below).

AG was invited in 1993 to participate in a project called IKEA PS. The contribution was "PS Mirror" and "PS Shelf". The collection had it´s premiere in Milan in the spring of 1998 at the furniture fair. The collection received world wide attention from media and public. The project was awarded " Excellent Swedish Design" that same year. In 1997 IKEA PS was added by 2 more products by AG.

During a show called "La jeune creation suedoise" in April 1994 the vase "Stalactite" first was shown for a enthusiastic Paris crowd. The vase is a plastic wall mounted item. It was AGs first medial and economical success. It sold in 60.000 pieces world wide during the years -94-97.

In the spring of 1997 AG started working with a collection called "Drop". This was products for the bathroom. The collection first was shown at the "Salone Satellite" in 1998 in Milan. The collection received immediate attention and is currently distributed in the American and European markets.
Mirror and rack in stainless steel is with in the collection. And also the shower curtain with pockets.

AG is currently involved in many different collaborations with producers in various fields (see client list below and website). One of them is the integrated computer for an the English company Powerdesk. This is the only computer of its kind on the market today that handles the problems with ugly cords. All the cords are invisible. www.powerdesk.com

Since the year 2000 AG has started collaboration with several furniture manufacturers. A cabinet series for Karl Andersson&Sons. One of the oldest and most renowned furniture companies in Sweden. Upholstery furniture for Offecct AB and outdoor furniture products for Nola Industries are some examples to be mentioned.
IKEA is also a company that AG is working with repeatingly. Our latest project is the "Domän" decorations. A somewhat unusual project for being IKEA. The company Svenskt Tenn, just turned 80 years old is a new collaboration. The lamp " Sidney" is our first contribution to their product line.

AG is also an interior design company and worked for some years with a chain of coffee stores in Scandinavia called Wayne´Coffee. At present units is being made in Tallin, Estonia and in Stockholm, Eskilstuna and in other cities in Sweden. Also hairdressing salons has been designed by AG for Wella AB.


PHILOSOPHY

"We begin with the thought that everything we do should be functional, of high quality workmanship and esthetically pleasing. We first consider the customers needs, the products end use, it’s environmental soundness, all with a reasonable production cost. Just as important is the products position when set against a similar product in the market place.
Our products must have their own unique identity. As we see it, the designing is only one part of a larger process. Likewise our approach is to consider for example if the item will be part of a collection, your distribution strategy and specific production methods. With these ideas in mind you could call us consultants as well as designers."


SOME OF OUR CLIENTS !

Formtanke AB, IKEA, Interstop, Karl Andersson & Sons, Nola, Powerdesk Ltd, Watt&Veke, Wayne´s Coffee, Svenskt Tenn, Wella AB.

If you need more information, don´t hesitate to make contact with us !

www.almengest.com


cabinet Kontur

bench Nook

decorational object Domän

paper bin Lounge

table lamp Sydney

storage unit 2K

easy chair Cox

Top

FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Directeur Général du VIA

Biographie

LETTRE DE L'INNOVATION

Consultez-la

AGENDA DU DESIGN
INFOS PRATIQUES
Galerie VIA

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Métro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Horaires :

lundi-vendredi : 9h30-18h30

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

ALMENGEST DESIGN

Contact : Hornsgatan 117 28 Stockholm - Suède

Tél. +46 8 15 71 11

tony@almengest.com
www.almengest.com
 
HISTORY

AlmenGest Design réunit Tony Almén et Peter Gest (nés en 1963). Ce ne sont pas seulement des amis, ils créent ensemble des produits nouveaux et des espaces intérieurs depuis 1991. Pour la maison, pour le bureau et pour les lieux publics. Parmi leurs clients figurent des grandes firmes suédoises et internationales, pour qui ils ont fait tout - de la poignée de porte aux meubles tapissés.

AG débute dans le mobilier en 1993. Leur première collection, fabriquée par leurs propres moyens, est exposée à Stockholm dans une galerie publique. Depuis, AG a participé à de nombreuses expositions (voir liste).

En 1993 AG a été invité de participer au projet IKEA PS. Leur contribution comprenait ”PS Mirror” et ”PS Shelf”. Lancée au salon de meuble de Milan, printemps 1998, cette collection reçoit un accueil très favorable des média et du public. La même année le projet gagne le prix ”Excellent Swedish Design”. En 1997 AG ajoute deux autres produits à la gamme IKEA PS.

Lors de l’exposition ”La jeune création suédoise” à Paris en avril 1994, le vase ”Stalactite” rencontre un accueil enthousiaste de la part des visiteurs. Il s’agit d’un élément mural en plastique. Ce fut le premier succès commercial de AG : 60 000 exemplaires vendus de par le monde entre 1994-97.

Printemps 1997 AG se met à travailler sur la collection ”Drop” - des produits pour la salle de bain. Lancée au Salone Satellite de Milan en 1998, cette collection aussi connaît un succès immédiat : elle est actuellement distribuée sur les marchés américains et européens.
La collection comprend un miroir et une porte-serviette en inox, ainsi qu’un rideau de douche à poches.

Aujourd’hui, AG collabore avec plusieurs fabricants dans divers domaines (voir liste des clients ci-dessous et sur notre site web). Parmi leurs projets figurent l’ordinateur intégré pour la firme anglaise Powerdesk. Il s’agit du seul ordinateur qui tente de se débarrasser des fils électriques : toutes les connexions sont invisibles. www.powerdesk.com

Depuis l’an 2000 AG collabore régulièrement avec plusieurs fabricants de meubles. Ils ont conçu une série de meubles de rangement pour Karl Andersson &Sons, une des sociétés les plus anciennes de la Suède. Ils créent aussi du mobilier tapissé pour Offecct AB et des meubles de jardin pour Nola Industries. Bien entendu, la collaboration avec IKEA se poursuit. Notre dernier projet en date est “Domän”, un ensemble de décorations, projet inhabituel pour IKEA. Une toute nouvelle collaboration est celle avec la société Svenskt Tenn, qui vient de fêter son 80ème anniversaire. La lampe “ Sydney” est notre première contribution à leur gamme de produits.

AG c’est aussi l’architecture intérieure. Nous avons travaillé depuis plusieurs années avec une chaîne de magasins à café en Scandinavie, connue sous le nom de Wayne’s Coffee. En ce moment nous sommes en train de construire leurs magasins à Tallin en Estonie, ainsi qu’à Stockholm, à Eskilstuna et dans d’autres villes en Suède. Nous concevons également des salons de coiffure pour Wella AB.


PHILOSOPHIE

"Nous avons commencé avec l’idée que toute notre production se devait d’être fonctionnelle, de haute qualité, de facture irréprochable et d’une esthétique agréable. En premier lieu, nous considérons les besoins des clients ainsi que la fonction principale, son impact sur l’environnement, et son coût de production, qui doit être raisonnable. Tout aussi important est le créneau du produit sur le marché, en comparaison avec un concurrent similaire.
Nos produits se doivent d’avoir une identité unique. Tel que nous le concevons, le design fait partie d’un processus plus large. De même, notre approche se doit de prendre en compte si le produit appartient à une collection ou obéit à une stratégie de distribution, et s’il est fabriqué par des méthodes spécifiques. Avec ces idées en tête, nous sommes consultants tout autant que designers."


QUELQUES UNS DE NOS CLIENTS !

Formtanke AB, IKEA, Interstop, Karl Andersson & Sons, Nola, Powerdesk Ltd, Watt&Veke, Wayne´s Coffee, Svenskt Tenn, Wella AB.


rangements Kontur

banc Nook

objet de décoration Domän

corbeille à papier Lounge

lampe à poser Sydney

rangement 2K

chaise relax Cox

Top