FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Executive Director of VIA

Biography

INNOVATION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe

DESIGN EVENTS CALENDAR
PRATICAL INFORMATIONS
VIA Gallery

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Metro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Opening :

monday-friday : 9.30am – 6.30pm

FOLLOW US ON...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Michiel VAN DER KLEY

Contact : Carré 36 5017 JE Tilburg - Pays-Bas

Ph. + 31 13 5423004

mail@michielvanderkley.nl
www.michielvanderkley.nl
 
Michiel van der Kley [1962] first came across the style of design, popular in the twenties (Bauhaus, Mackintosh) while he was studying history. Struck by the fact that this kind of design could no longer be found in the shops, he began designing and producing his own designs. A few years later he decided to concentrate exclusively on design. These days his designs are produced by manufacturers in the Netherlands and other countries as Artifort, Spectrum and Van Esch.
Michiel van der Kley: "Design is sometimes about the grand gesture and sometimes about the details that transform an object into something special. It is the details that give the object its character.

"There is a huge difference between feelings and thoughts; between the heart and the head. I don’t enjoy trying to explain things. For years I’m doing my best to allow my work to be guided by my feelings. Sometimes I succeed and that’s when things emerge. To then try to explain why something looks the way it does is a very bizarre activity. As far as I am concerned, the sofa, chair or table speaks for itself; talking about ’soft lines’, ’choice of material’ or ’revealing the construction’ doesn’t add anything. The essential thing is that it matches the feeling. All attempts to explain it are deceptive. Such attempts are simply intended to reassure people."

Michiel van der Kley


sofa Bird

sofa and armchair Seven

sofa Base

sofa Isobel

chair Dive

dining table with integrated plates Sumo

clothstand Chase

coatrack Chase Wallversion

base footstool Base footstool

desk with fully integrated computer i-Con I

sofadesk i-Con II

desk i-Con III

Top

FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Directeur Général du VIA

Biographie

LETTRE DE L'INNOVATION

Abonnez-vous

AGENDA DU DESIGN
OFFRE DE STAGE, EMPLOI

DesignJob.fr

INFOS PRATIQUES
Galerie VIA

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Métro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Horaires :

lundi-vendredi : 9h30-18h30

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Michiel VAN DER KLEY

Contact : Carré 36 5017 JE Tilburg - Pays-Bas

Tél. + 31 13 5423004

mail@michielvanderkley.nl
www.michielvanderkley.nl
 
Michiel van der Kley [né1962] rencontre le design des années 1920 (Bauhaus, Mackintosh) pour la première fois en étudiant l’histoire. Ayant constaté que ce style n’était plus en vente dans les magasins, il se mit à créer et à fabriquer ses propres produits. Après quelques années, il décide de se consacrer entièrement au design. Actuellement, ses créations sont fabriquées par des industriels comme Artifort, Spectrum et Van Esch, aux Pays-Bas et ailleurs.

Pour Michiel van der Kley : ‘Le design est parfois une affaire de grands gestes et parfois une affaire de détails qui transforment un objet pour en faire quelque chose de spécial. Ce sont les détails qui donnent à l’objet son caractère’.

’Il y a une énorme différence entre les sentiments et la pensée ; entre le cœur et la tête. Je n’aime pas devoir expliquer les choses. Pendant des années, je me suis contenté de faire de mon mieux en me laissant guider par mes sentiments. Parfois, je réussis : alors les choses émergent. Alors, expliquer pourquoi une chose est comme elle est : voilà une activité bizarre. En ce qui me concerne, le sofa, la chaise ou la table parlent pour eux-mêmes. Parler ensuite de ’lignes douces’, du ’choix des matériaux’ ou de ’la révélation de la construction’ n’y ajoute rien. La chose essentielle c’est que l’objet aille de pair avec l’émotion. Toute tentative d’explication est vaine. On ne fait qu’essayer de rassurer les gens.’

Michiel van der Kley


canapé Bird

canapé et fauteuil Seven

canapé Base

canapé Isobel

chaise Dive

table de salle à manger avec assiettes intégrées Sumo

penderie Chase

porte-manteaux Chase Wallversion

repose pieds Base footstool

bureau avec ordinateur intégré i-Con I

canapé - bureau i-Con II

bureau i-Con III

Top