FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Executive Director of VIA

Biography

INNOVATION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe

DESIGN EVENTS CALENDAR
PRATICAL INFORMATIONS
VIA Gallery

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Metro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Opening :

monday-friday : 9.30am – 6.30pm

FOLLOW US ON...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Jasper MORRISON

Contact : 51 Hoxton Square N16PB London - Royaume-Uni



mail@jaspermorrison.com
www.jaspermorrison.com
 
Jasper Morrison was born in London in 1959, and graduated in Design at Kingston Polytechnic Design School, London (1979-82 BA(Des.) ) and The Royal College of Art for Post Graduate studies (1982-85 MA(Des.) RCA). In 1984 he studied at Berlin’s HdK on a Scholarship.

In 1986 he set up an Office for Design in London. His work was included in the Documenta 8 exhibition in Kassel in 1987, for which he designed the Reuters News Centre. The following year he was invited to take part in "Design Werkstadt", a part of the "Berlin, Cultural City of Europe" program, where he exhibited "Some new items for the house, part i" at the DAAD Gallery.

At this time he began designing products for SCP in London, the German door handle producer FSB, the Office furniture company Vitra, and the Italian furniture producer Cappellini. In 1992 together with James Irvine, he organised Progetto Oggetto for Cappellini, a collection of household objects designed together with a group of young European designers. He also woked with Andreas Brandolini and Axel Kufus on a variety of installations, exhibition designs and town planning projects under the umbrella of Utilism International.

1n 1992, his slide show lecture "A world without words" was published in book format by the graphic designer Tony Arefin.

In 1994 Jasper Morrison was guest of honour and held an exhibition at the Interieur ’94 exhibition in Belgium. In 1995 he held a solo exhibition at Bordeaux’s Arc en Rêve Centre d’architecture. He began a consultancy with Üstra the Hannover Transportation Authority by designing a Bus Stop for the City.

In 1995 Jasper Morrison’s office was awarded the contract to design the new Hannover Tram, the largest European light rail production contract of its time, at 500 Million Deutschemarks. The first vehicle was presented to the public in June 1997 at the Hannover Industrial Fair, and awarded the IF Transportation Design Prize and the Ecology award.

More recently exhibitions and instalations have included: "The State of Things" to complement the editing of the 1999 Design Year Book. Solo exhibitions at the Axis Gallery, Tokyo, for Flos at the Yamagiwa Centre in Tokyo, as Designer of the Year 2000 at the Paris Design Fair, a Magis exhibition with Marc Newson and Michael Young in Palermo, and another with Marc Newson at the Deste Foundation, Athens.

Recent projects include the design of furniture for Tate Modern in London, "Luxmaster" for Flos, Folding Air-Chair and Low Air-Table for Magis; a Monograph "Everything but the Walls" published by Lars Müller Publishers; a bench for the Roppongi Hills development in Tokyo; ATM desk system for Vitra and a line of kitchen appliances for Rowenta.

Jasper Morrison Ltd. currently based in London and Paris, have worked and in most cases still do for the follwoing companies:

Alessi Spa, Italy; Alias Srl, Italy; Canon Camera Division, Japan; Cappellini Spa., Italy; Flos Spa, Italy; FSB GmbH, Germany; Magis Srl, Italy; Rosenthal AG, Germany; Rowenta, France; Sony Design Centre Europe; Vitra International AG, Switzerland; Samsung Electronics, Korea.


chair Air-Chair

chair Hi Pad

kettle Kettle

cutlery set Knifeforkspoon

small tables Cork Family

extensive family of diffuser lamps Glo-Ball

Top

FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Directeur Général du VIA

Biographie

LETTRE DE L'INNOVATION

Consultez-la

AGENDA DU DESIGN
INFOS PRATIQUES
Galerie VIA

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Métro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Horaires :

lundi-vendredi : 9h30-18h30

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Jasper MORRISON

Contact : 51 Hoxton Square N16PB London - Royaume-Uni



mail@jaspermorrison.com
www.jaspermorrison.com
 
Jasper Morrison est né à Londres en 1959. Il est diplômé en Design de la Kingston Polytechnic Design School, Londres (1979-82, BA Design) et du Royal College of Art (1982-85, MA Design, RCA). En 1984 il a bénéficié d’une bourse d’études à la HdK de Berlin.

En 1986 il fonde son Office for Design à Londres. Son projet pour le Reuters News Centre est présenté à l’exposition Documenta 8 à Kassel (Allemagne) en 1987. L’année suivante il est invité à participer au programme Design Werkstadt, dans le cadre de la manifestation “Berlin, capitale culturelle de l’Europe” ; il expose “Some new items for the house, part i” à la galerie DAAD.

C’est à cette époque qu’il commence à créer des produits à Londres pour SCP, fabricant allemand de poignées de porte, pour FSB, pour la firme de mobilier de bureau Vitra, et pour le fabricant de mobilier italien Cappellini. En 1992, avec James Irvine, il organise Progetto Oggetto pour Cappellini, une collection d’objets domestiques conçue par un group de jeunes designers européens. Il travaille aussi avec Andreas Brandolini et Axel Kufus sur des installations, des scénographies d’exposition et des projets urbains, sous le label Utilism International.

En 1992, son diaporama “A world without words” est publié sous forme de livre, avec conception graphique par le designer Tony Arefin.

En 1994 Jasper Morrison est invité d’honneur au salon Interieur ‘94 en Belgique, où il expose ses projets. En 1995 une exposition personnelle lui est consacrée au Centre d’architecteure Arc en Rêve à Bordeaux. Il devient conseiller pour Üstra, la Régie des transports de Hanovre, pour qui il conçoit un arrêt de bus urbain.

En 1995 l’agence Jasper Morrison est retenue pour concevoir le nouveau Tramway de Hanovre, (500 M DM), à l’époque le contrat le plus important dans l’Europe entière pour un système de rail léger. Le premier véhicule est présenté au public en juin 1997 à la foire industrielle d’Hanovre, et obtient deux prix (IF Transportation Design Prize et Ecology Award).

Parmi ses expositions et installations plus récentes figurent : “The State of Things” en complément à l’édition du Design Year Book 1999. Des expositions personnelles ont eu lieu à l’Axis Gallery, Tokyo, pour Flos au Yamagiwa Centre de Tokyo, en tant que Designer de l’Année 2000 au Salon du meuble de Paris, chez Magis avec Marc Newson et Michael Young à Palerme, et encore avec Marc Newson à la Fondation Deste à Athènes.

Parmi ses projets récents en mobilier on peut citer son travail pour le Tate Modern à Londres, “Luxmaster” pour Flos, Folding Air-Chair et Low Air-Table pour Magis ; une monographie intitulée “Everything but the Walls” chez Lars Müller Publishers ; un banc pour le Roppongi Hills aménagement à Tokyo ; le système bureau ATM pour Vitra et une gamme d’accessoires de cuisine pour Rowenta.

Avec des bureaux à Londres et à Paris, Jasper Morrison Ltd. compte parmi ses clients :

Alessi Spa, Italie ; Alias Srl, Italie ; Canon Camera Division, Japon ; Cappellini Spa., Italie ; Flos Spa, Italie ; FSB GmbH, Allemagne ; Magis Srl, Italie ; Rosenthal AG, Allemagne ; Rowenta, France ; Sony Design Centre Europe ; Vitra International AG, Suisse ; et Samsung Electronics, Corée.





chaise Air-Chair

chaise Hi Pad

bouilloire Kettle

ensemble de coutellerie Knifeforkspoon

petites tables Cork Family

gamme de lampes Glo-Ball

Top