FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Executive Director of VIA

Biography

INNOVATION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe

DESIGN EVENTS CALENDAR
PRATICAL INFORMATIONS
VIA Gallery

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Metro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Opening :

monday-friday : 9.30am – 6.30pm

FOLLOW US ON...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Sam HECHT

Contact : Industrial Facility - Clerks Well House - 20 Britton Street EC1M 5UA London - Royaume-Uni

Ph. +44 (0)207 253 3234

mail@industrialfacility.co.uk
www.industrialfacility.co.uk
 
Sam Hecht was born in London in 1969. His training began at the Hornsey School of Art, followed by a degree in Industrial Design at the St. Martins School of Art. His interest in industrial design and architecture led him to apprenticeships with David Chipperfield and Queensbury Hunt. Hecht thus began to define the style that characterizes his personality as a designer. A profound search for the essential, acute observation of the world we live in and a belief that simplicity can be inspirational. In 1993 he completed his studies at the Royal College of Art in London. With the poor state of the design economy at that time, he travelled abroad, first to Tel-Aviv where he had met previously at the Architectural Association a group of students. This was followed by 3 years in California, and 3 years in Tokyo. This period involved the collaborations with Naoto Fukasawa, producing some startling product typologies over the course of 6 years: Whitebox for NEC (1997); Printables for Epson Japan (1998); and kitchen products for National (1998). In 1999 he returned to London as Head of Industrial Design at the offices of IDEO, where he completed his first piece of Architecture - a pavilion for Thames Water (2000), being awarded the RIBA emerging architecture award. In 2002, he co-founded Industrial Facility with his partner Kim Colin.

He began to work with manufacturers, and the number of clients increased in just a few years, with most of his work in Europe and Japan. For Muji Japan he created the ’Second Phone’ (2004), which led to him being invited to become Design Director for Europe. For Harrison Fisher, a Sheffield company, he became retained designer producing a notable sequel to Robert Welch’s Chantry Knife Sharpener (2004), selected for the Frankfurt Museum, as well as the progressive IF4000 collection of knives (2005). For Epson Japan, he returned to designing products after a gap of 5 years, with the first DVD/LCD projector (2004). His projects represent a new form of design that Daniel Weil terms as ’Ghosts’. Multi-dimensional, essential forms, with the designer name and its expressiveness removed from the foreground. An example is the continued collaboration with Lexon France, where his projects involve unexpected solutions to technology. For example, the ’Twice’ clock and ’Once’ watch (2003) both involve suppressive functionality, yet deliver more satisfying and efficient use. The collections now form part of the Pompidou, Paris. His interest in the simplest of solutions does not hinder his creative flare, with some remarkable designs such as the FlexLamp for Droog (2004) and the ’Equipment’ project for Whirlpool (2004). It was this project that brought about the most compelling collaboration yet, with Kim Colin, an architect by training. Based on what they term ’Product as Landscape’, it attempts to position Whirlpool as a manufacturer of landscapes, with a complete kitchen as a product.

His career has also included teaching activities at the Royal College of Art of London, and many solo and group exhibitions, the most important of which include: ’Sam Hecht and Ron Arad - The artist and engineer’, Paris (2002); ’Under a Fiver’, the Design Museum, London (2000); and the retrospective ’FOUND/MADE/THOUGHT’, at the Israel Museum (2005). He has written several books including ’Things that go Unseen’, with Kim Colin, and art directed the ’Landscape’ issue of Cent magazine.


knife collection IF4000

knife Sharpener Chantry Modern

knife Collection Solid

telephone Telephone

Low Sofa Program

chair Plywood Sofa

magnetised MP3 Player Sound Gum

digital Clock Twice

optical Mouse Mouse Trap

kitchen Equipment

headband Hairglasses

LCD/DVD Projector Epson View

Top

FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Directeur Général du VIA

Biographie

LETTRE DE L'INNOVATION

Abonnez-vous

AGENDA DU DESIGN
OFFRE DE STAGE, EMPLOI

DesignJob.fr

INFOS PRATIQUES
Galerie VIA

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Métro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Horaires :

lundi-vendredi : 9h30-18h30

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Sam HECHT

Contact : Industrial Facility - Clerks Well House - 20 Britton Street EC1M 5UA London - Royaume-Uni

Tél. +44 (0)207 253 3234

mail@industrialfacility.co.uk
www.industrialfacility.co.uk
 
Sam Hecht est né en Londres en 1969. Il commence sa formation à la Hornsey School of Art avant d’étudier pour son diplôme en design industriel à la St. Martins School of Art. Son intérêt pour le design industriel et l’architecture l’amènent ensuite à parfaire son apprentissage chez David Chipperfield et Queensbury Hunt. C’est là que Hecht commence à définir les caractéristiques de son style personnel en tant que designer : la recherche de ce qui est essentiel, l’observation aiguë du monde qui nous entoure, et la foi dans la simplicité comme source d’inspiration. En 1993 il achève ses études au Royal College of Art de Londres. Mais étant donné la situation déprimée de l’économie design à l’époque, il choisit de voyager. Sa première destination est Tel-Aviv, ayant au préalable rencontré à la Architectural Association un groupe d’étudiants israéliens. Ensuite, il passe trois ans en Californie avant de s’installer à Tokyo. C’est là qu’il collabore avec Naoto Fukasawa et au cours d’un long séjour crée plusieurs typologies remarquables pour des produits : Whitebox pour NEC (1997) ; Printables pour Epson Japon (1998) ; et des accessoires de cuisine pour National (1998). En 1999 il retourne à Londres et devient chef de design pour IDEO, chez qui il construit son premier projet d’architecture, un pavillon pour Thames Water (2000), qui gagne le prix RIBA pour l’architecture émergente. En 2002, il est co-fondateur avec son partenaire Kim Colin de l’agence Industrial Facility.

Il travaille pour quelques industriels mais en très peu de temps le nombre de clients grossit, la plupart en Europe et au Japon. Pour Muji Japon il crée le ‘Second Phone’ (2004), qui lui vaut d’être nommé directeur de design pour l’Europe. Harrison Fisher, un fabricant de Sheffield, le retient comme designer pour produire une séquelle ‘moderne’ à l’aiguisoir à couteaux ‘Chantry’ de Robert Welch (2004), sélectionné pour le musée de Francfort, ainsi qu’une collection de couteaux d’avant-garde - la IF4000 (2005). Après une période de cinq ans il reprend du service chez Epson Japon pour concevoir des nouveaux produits dont un appareil DVD/LCD (2004). Ses projets représentent une forme nouvelle de design : Daniel Weil les qualifie de ‘fantômes’. Ce sont des formes essentielles à multiples dimensions, qui tirent une partie de leur force expressive du fait que le nom du designer n’est jamais mis en avant. Un autre exemple est la collaboration suivie avec Lexon France, où ses projets amènent des solutions inattendues à la technologie. Voyez l’horloge ‘Twice’ et la montre ‘Once’ (2003), qui tous les deux semblent tabler sur une fonctionnalité prosaïque, mais qui s’avèrent être très satisfaisantes et efficaces. Ces pièces figurent désormais dans les collections du Centre Pompidou à Paris. Son intérêt pour les solutions les plus simples ne préjuge en rien de sa panache en tant que créateur, puisqu’il a produit des œuvres remarquables, comme la Flexlamp pour Droog (2004) et le projet ‘Equipment’ pour Whirlpool (2004). C’est ce dernier projet qui entraîna une collaboration passionnante avec l’architecte de formation Kim Colin. Il illustre le concept qu’ils appellent ‘le produit en tant que paysage’, par lequel ils tentent de situer Whirlpool comme un fabricant de paysages au quotidien, dans une cuisine complète.

La carrière de Sam Hecht passe aussi par ses activités d’enseignant au Royal College of Art de Londres, et par ses nombreuses expositions personnelles et de groupe, dont les plus importantes sont ‘Sam Hecht & Ron Arad – the artist and engineer’, Paris (2002); ‘Under a Fiver’, Design Museum, Londres (2000); et la rétrospective ‘FOUND/MADE/THOUGHT’, Israel Museum (2005). Il est l’auteur de plusieurs livres, dont ‘Things that go Unseen’, avec Kim Colin, et fut directeur artistique du numéro ‘Landscape’ du magazine ‘Cent’.


collection de couteaux IF4000

aiguisoir à couteaux Chantry Modern

collection de couteaux Solid

téléphone Telephone

canapé Low Sofa Program

chaise Plywood Sofa

lecteur MP3 magnétisé Sound Gum

horloge numérique Twice

souris optique Mouse Trap

cuisine Equipment

serre-tête Hairglasses

projecteur LCD/DVD Epson View

Top