FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Executive Director of VIA

Biography

INNOVATION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe

DESIGN EVENTS CALENDAR
PRATICAL INFORMATIONS
VIA Gallery

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Metro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Opening :

monday-friday : 9.30am – 6.30pm

FOLLOW US ON...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Todd BRACHER

Contact : 63 Flushing Avenue, Bldg 280 Suite 515 Unit 195 NY 11205 Brooklyn - USA



info@toddbracher.net
www.toddbracher.net
 
Excerpt from SPOON, Laura Houseley 2002
American born designer Todd Bracher first came to the attention of the design world with Open Privacy, a thought-provoking project produced in 2001. A beautifully sculptural installation of plywood, carton, and steel tubing. Open Privacy is essentially a framed arrangement of a table and chairs designed for public use in café’s. The steel tubing is reminiscent of a tent frame but its function is a first unclear - where is the canopy that should surely enclose it? The project was designed to examine the limits of perceived privacy. This, Bracher’s first work is subtly academic, questioning our comfort about dining in public spaces, but delightfully sculptural and tectonic too. Bracher says of the experimental piece; ’Inspiration came from this most personal event, dining, and the codes and rules that are underlying it. In addition I considered how this furniture might relate to the architectural environment.
This analytical approach that Bracher takes to his work makes it unique. He sums up his own style as ’respectful, patient and understated’. Ideas either come to him haphazardly or after a period of analysis and experimentation. Nothing, it seems is forced.
Bracher’s designs are without precedent - perhaps this is because he has not been around long enough for tradition to stick. He has had four homes, first in America, then Denmark, France and then finally Italy, where he now lives and works. The most important element of his designs is the ’respectful dialog with the user’. Bracher is intent on exploring this dialog further in to22 (2002). A collaboration or a discourse between himself, the designer Mark Goetz, and the designer/film-maker Efe Buluc, the projects focus on the though process behind design decisions, rather than the end products.
The products that embody Bracher’s provocative theories are certainly easy on the eye. Bloom (2001) is another café installation, produced at the same time as Open Privacy. A pressed-ash veneer table and stools fit together, puzzle-like, when not in use.(…) More recently, Bracher has worked on Freud (2002) a sofa design for Zanotta, which is destined for mass production, a collection of wool rugs for Urban outfitters, and several hanging lamp concepts.


café stools and table Bloom

kitchen extractor hood Halo

sofa Freud

lounge Libertine

lounge Libri lounge

table environ Open privacy

light fixture Penumbra

library Slim

sculpture A one flower bouquet

sculpture Something from nothing

side table Tod

side table Tray

lounge Trilounge

bed Vessel

Top

FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Directeur Général du VIA

Biographie

LETTRE DE L'INNOVATION

Abonnez-vous

AGENDA DU DESIGN
OFFRE DE STAGE, EMPLOI

DesignJob.fr

INFOS PRATIQUES
Galerie VIA

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Métro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Horaires :

lundi-vendredi : 9h30-18h30

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Todd BRACHER

Contact : 63 Flushing Avenue, Bldg 280 Suite 515 Unit 195 NY 11205 Brooklyn - USA



info@toddbracher.net
www.toddbracher.net
 
Extrait de SPOON, Laura Houseley 2002.

Todd Bracher est un designer né en Amérique qui attira l’attention du monde de design pour la première fois en 2001 avec son projet ‘Open Privacy’. Il s’agit d’une installation faite de contreplaqué, de carton et d’acier tubulaire, merveilleusement sculpturale et génératrice de beaucoup de pensées. ‘Open Privacy’ est essentiellement un arrangement cadré – des chaises et une table - conçu pour être utilisé par le public dans un café. L’acier tubulaire nous rappelle le cadre d’une tente, mais à première vue sa fonction n’est pas évidente – où est la toile qui devrait l’entourer? En fait, le projet a été conçu pour examiner les limites perceptibles du domaine privé. Première pièce de Bracher, c’est un travail subtilement académique qui questionne nos notions de confort lorsque nous mangeons en public, mais qui est aussi très sculptural et tectonique. En commentant cette œuvre expérimentale, Bracher dit : ‘L’inspiration est venue de cet acte si personnel qui est de dîner, et des codes et règles qui l’entourent. En plus, j’ai essayé de voir comment ses meubles pouvaient être en rapport avec l’environnement architectural.
C’est cette approche analytique qu’assume Bracher qui donne un caractère unique à son travail. Il résume son style en disant qu’il est ‘respectueux, patient et sans emphase’. Ses idées viennent soit au hasard, soit après une période d’analyse et d’expérimentation. Il semble que rien n’est forcé.
Les œuvres de Bracher sont sans précédent – peut-être parce qu’il n’a pas été stationnaire suffisamment longtemps pour absorber une tradition. Il a eu quatre pays, en premier l’Amérique, ensuite le Danemark, puis la France et enfin l’Italie, où il vit et travaille. L’élément le plus important de ses conceptions c’est le ‘dialogue respectueux avec l’utilisateur’. Bracher pousse ce dialogue plus loin en to22 (2002). Il s’agit d’une collaboration ou d’une conversation entre lui-même, le designer Mark Goetz et le designer/réalisateur de film Efe Buluc, un projet qui reflète les processus de pensée sous-jacents dans la création plutôt que les produits finis.
Les produits qui incarnent les théories provocatrices de Bracher sont sans conteste très beaux. ‘Bloom’ (2001), une autre ‘installation pour un café’, est contemporaine de ‘Open Privacy’. Quand ils ne sont pas en service, la table avec son placage en frêne et les tabourets s’emboîtent comme les pièces d’un puzzle. […] Plus récemment, Bracher a travaillé sur ‘Freud’ (2002), un sofa pour Zanotta, destiné à la production en série, une collection de tapis en laine pour des détaillants urbains, et plusieurs concepts pour des lampes à suspension.


tabourets et table à café Bloom

hotte aspirante Halo

canapé Freud

chaise longue Libertine

chaise longue Libri lounge

environnement table Open privacy

luminaire Penumbra

bibliothèque Slim

sculpture A one flower bouquet

sculpture Something from nothing

guéridon Tod

guéridon Tray

chaise longue Trilounge

lit Vessel

Top