FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Executive Director of VIA

Biography

INNOVATION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe

DESIGN EVENTS CALENDAR
PRATICAL INFORMATIONS
VIA Gallery

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Metro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Opening :

monday-friday : 9.30am – 6.30pm

FOLLOW US ON...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Ilkka SUPPANEN

Contact : Punavuorenkatu 1 A 7 b 00120 Helsinki - Finlande

Ph. +358 9 622 78737

info@suppanen.com
www.suppanen.com
 
Ilkka Suppanen (b. 1968) has studied architecture at the Technical University of Helsinki and Interior and Furniture Design at the University of Art and Design Helsinki. In 1995, he founded Studio Suppanen in Helsinki. The studio offers integrated strategic design in the fields of interior, product and concept design and architecture.
Ilkka Suppanen has taught design at the University of Art and Design Helsinki since 1996. He has held lectures in several design seminars. Suppanen was also the Chairman of the board of the International Alvar Aalto Design Seminar in 2007 and the curator of Hardcore-exhibition in New York in 2008.
Ilkka Suppanen is capable of managing large-scale processes. He believes it is important to understand the whole value chain of the company. He appreciates long-term projects that leave space for innovation. Suppanen’s constant interest in production techniques and new materials and usages can be seen in many of his works. His expression is light, forward-looking and yet classically Scandinavian. He is one of the best-known contemporary Finnish designers. He has also received many international awards, most recently the Swedish Bruno Mathsson Prize 2006. In 1997, he founded the Snowcrash design cooperative together with three colleagues. In 1997, Suppanen and his Snowcrash team got the Young Designer of the Year Award in Germany. In the following year, he was nominated for the Dedalus prize for young European Designers by Ettore Sottsass. In 2000, Design Forum awarded Ilkka Suppanen and Harri Koskinen the Young Designer of the Year prize.
Suppanen’s work has been exhibited worldwide including shows at the Venice Architecture Biennale, the Milan Furniture Fair and the MoMA in New York. His works have been widely reported by the international press and publications. His works are part of the permanent collections of the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam and the Museum für Angewandte Kunst in Cologne and others.

Studio Suppanen is a design studio working in graphics, three-dimensional design and architecture based in Helsinki.
Our flexible approach and broad skill base mean we can work across different media and on different scales, from graphics to product design and furniture, from interiors to architecture. Our research base also means that we are frequently asked to develop concepts for clients worldwide.
For us design is based on several factors: human experience, social behaviors, global, economic and political issues, physical and mental interaction, form, vision, and a rigorous understanding and desire for contemporary culture. Manufacturing is based on another collective group of criteria: capital investment, market share, production ease, dissemination, growth, distribution, maintenance, service, performance, quality, ecological issues and sustainability. The combination of these factors shape our objects, inform our forms, our physical space, visual culture and our contemporary human experience. These quantitative constructs shape business, identity, brand and value. This is what we are doing. Something that is poetry of manufacturing and life; Design.
Our commitment to tackling the challenges of today’s living and working requirements means we constantly experiment with new ideas, materials and technologies, and encourages us to look beyond conventional forms and find new ways to support today’s behaviour.

For media inquiries, please contact:
Midori Suzuki
+358 50 550 37 33
press@suppanen.com




divan Flying Carpet

chair Nomad

easy chair Lazy Lady

easy chair Cube

easy chair Gap

cabinet Rack

table Table

lights Lokki

light Frozen feather

light HiWave

office system Luminet

bag Loco

car interior concept Saab 93

FAO interior Forestry Room

vacation house Villa – Ilo

Top

FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Directeur Général du VIA

Biographie

LETTRE DE L'INNOVATION

Consultez-la

AGENDA DU DESIGN
INFOS PRATIQUES
Galerie VIA

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Métro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Horaires :

lundi-vendredi : 9h30-18h30

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Ilkka SUPPANEN

Contact : Punavuorenkatu 1 A 7 b 00120 Helsinki - Finlande

Tél. +358 9 622 78737

info@suppanen.com
www.suppanen.com
 
Ilkka Suppanen (né en 1968) fit ses études à Helsinki : architecture à l’Université technique et mobilier intérieur à l’Université de l’Art et du Design. En 1995, il fonde le Studio Suppanen à Helsinki. Le studio offre une force de création stratégique et intégrée dans les domaines de l’espace intérieur, du produit, du concept et de l’architecture.
Depuis 1996, Ilkka Suppanen est également enseignant à l’Université de l’Art et du Design, où il anime des cours et des séminaires consacrés au design. En 2007, il est élu président du conseil du Séminaire international de design Alvar Aalto ; en 2008, il est commissaire de l’exposition ‘Hardcore’ à New York.
Suppanen aime gérer des processus à grande échelle. Pour lui, il est important de comprendre la chaîne entière des valeurs d’une firme. Il affectionne les projets à long terme, qui lui laissent l’espace et le temps nécessaire à l’innovation. Comme en témoigne bon nombre de ses créations, il s’intéresse aux nouvelles techniques de production ainsi qu’aux nouvelles matières et à leur mise en oeuvre. Son expression est légère, tournée vers l’avenir, mais classiquement scandinave. Il figure parmi les plus connus des designers finnois contemporains. Il a reçu de nombreux prix internationaux, dont le prix Bruno Mathsson 2006, décerné par la Suède. En 1997, avec trois collègues, il fonde le collectif Snowcrash design, qui la même année reçoit le prix Jeune Designer de l’Année décerné par l’Allemagne. En 1998, Suppanen est pressenti pour le prix Dedalus des Jeunes designers européens par Ettore Sottsass. En 2000, c’est le Design Forum qui attribue à Ilkka Suppanen et Harri Koskinen le prix Jeune Designer de l’Année.
Son travail est exposé dans le monde entier : à la Biennale d’Architecture de Venise, au Salon du meuble de Milan, au MoMA de New York. Il a aussi fait l’objet de nombreux articles dans la presse internationale et dans des publications. Ses œuvres figurent dans plusieurs collections permanentes, dont celles du Stedelijk Museum à Amsterdam et du Museum für Angewandte Kunst à Cologne.

Le Studio Suppanen travaille aussi dans les arts graphiques, le 3D et l’architecture. Notre approche toute en souplesse et notre base de compétences nous autorisent à traverser différentes médias et différentes échelles, de l’art graphique au produit, du mobilier à l’espace intérieur et à l’architecture. Nos techniques de recherche nous ont souvent valu de développer des concepts pour des clients dans le monde entier.
Pour nous, le design est fonction de multiples facteurs : l’expérience humaine, les comportements sociaux, les courants globaux, économiques et politiques, l’interaction physique et mentale, la forme, la perception, et enfin, une compréhension rigoureuse de la culture contemporaine ainsi que le désir de la promouvoir. Quant à la production, elle est sujette à d’autres critères : l’investissement des capitaux, les parts du marché, les possibilités en termes de moyens, la distribution, la croissance, la maintenance et le service, la performance, la qualité, ainsi que les problèmes d’écologie et de durabilité. C’est la combinaison de toutes ses choses qui donne naissance aux objets, qui infléchit nos formes, notre espace physique, notre culture visuelle et notre expérience du monde contemporain. Mettre ensemble ces choses, c’est construire une firme, une identité, une marque et de la valeur. Voilà ce que nous faisons. La poésie de la production et de la vie ; le design.
Notre engagement et notre volonté de relever les défis du monde d’aujourd’hui, pour tous les besoins de la vie et du travail, nous obligent constamment à expérimenter avec des idées, des matières et des technologies nouvelles. C’est cela qui nous encourage à chercher au delà des solutions conventionnelles et à trouver des supports nouveaux en phase avec le monde contemporain.

Pour tout renseignement, merci de contacter:
Midori Suzuki
+358 50 550 37 33
press@suppanen.com





divan Flying Carpet

chaise Nomad

chaise relax Lazy Lady

chaise relax Cube

chaise relax Gap

cabinet Rack

table Table

luminaires Lokki

luminaire Frozen feather

luminaire HiWave

système de bureau Luminet

sac Loco

concept car Saab 93

intérieur FAO Forestry Room

maison de vacances Villa – Ilo

Top