FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Executive Director of VIA

Biography

INNOVATION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe

DESIGN EVENTS CALENDAR
PRATICAL INFORMATIONS
VIA Gallery

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Metro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Opening :

monday-friday : 9.30am – 6.30pm

FOLLOW US ON...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Danny VENLET

Contact : Marcqstraat 24 1000 Brussels - Belgique

Ph. +32 (0)2 223 38 28

office@venlet.net
www.venlet.net
 
Danny Venlet was born and raised in Australia. After his education at the Sint Lukas Art Academy in Brussels (Belgium) he switched from home country several times. Between Australia and Belgium, to be more specific. That’s why it should raise no eyebrow when you were told he left remarkable trails in both countries, and found inspiration in both soils.

After a collaboration with Marc Newson, Venlet layed his hand on the design of several hotels and bars in Australia in the 90’s. Giving them a completely new appearance and radiance: the Burdekin Hotels and the Q-bars. From these projects both the ’Q-stool’, the well-known ’Burdekin barstool’ and the ’Burdekin’ table were born.

Since 1998 Danny Venlet, choose Belgium again as his working ground. Antwerp gained the Man-Chi relax center for men, as well as Fragma, a designer / fashion - shop located in the Nationalestraat. His interiors are stylish, playful and practical. Features, which are typical for Venlets style and can be seen as a synonym for what he stands for.
A great brake-through for his fame and reputation on an international scale was the introduction of the ’Easyrider’ (for Bulo). The design won a respectable amount of awards, such as the ’Henri van de Velde-prijs’. It’s a mobile combination between desk and relaxation chair, covering both your working space and leisure.
Other appreciated designs from his hand are:
The ’Man-Chi’ massage chair, the ’Screw’ garden furniture and pick nick set for Coro, the ’Let’s Drop’ sits for MNM, the ’IceCube’ for Extremis, the ’D2V2’ for Dark and of course the floating sofa ’Dish’ for Naked.


stand on art fair Archetype - Art Bruxelles

stand on art fair Illy - Art Bruxelles

bar Burdekin

collective exhibition in Flanders Parlement Flanders Design Icons

bar GPO level II

VIP night club bar GPO level II

shoeshop Hatshoe

stand sur le salon auto BXL Mini Concept Car

icecream bar Parmalat

temporary exhibition for kids Red Cross Asylum

temporary exhibition for kids Red Cross Terrorism

head offices Timberland

wholesale showroom Timberland

temporary bar for exhibition Tour & Taxis

collective design exhibition Transit

table Burdekin table

bar stool Burdekin free standing

stool Q bar stool

relaxing seat Manchi

coated handbag Delvaux

cool box Ice cube

mobile desk-seat Easy Rider

shower Screw collection

lighting D2V2

poufs Let’s drop

sofa Dish

relaxation/massage shop Manchi

fashion boutique/store Fragma

loft interior Renato Braaf

exhibition for children St Jean de Monts

Top

FREN

JEAN-PAUL BATH
Directeur Général du VIA

Biographie

LETTRE DE L'INNOVATION

Consultez-la

AGENDA DU DESIGN
INFOS PRATIQUES
Galerie VIA

120, avenue Ledru Rollin
75011 Paris
Métro : Gare de Lyon / Ledru Rollin

Horaires :

lundi-vendredi : 9h30-18h30

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR...
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Danny VENLET

Contact : Marcqstraat 24 1000 Brussels - Belgique

Tél. +32 (0)2 223 38 28

office@venlet.net
www.venlet.net
 
Né et élevé en Australie, après sa formation à l’Académie d’Art Sint Lukas à Bruxelles, il changea plusieurs fois de pays. C’est à dire, entre l’Australie et la Belgique. Pas étonnant alors de savoir qu’il ait tracé des itinéraires remarquables dans les deux pays, et qu’il ait trouvé son inspiration dans deux terres.

Suite à une collaboration avec Marc Newson, Venlet se lance dans le design de plusieurs hôtels et bars en Australie dans les années 90. Ils renouvellent complètement leur apparence et les fait rayonner : les Hôtels Burdekin et les Q-bars. De ces projets sont nés le ‘Q-stool’ ainsi que le célèbre ‘tabouret de bar ‘Burdekin barstool’ et la ‘table Burdekin’.

En 1998 Danny Venlet réintègre la Belgique en tant qu’aire de travail. Anvers s’est enrichi du centre de relaxation pour hommes Man-Chi, ainsi que la boutique de mode Fragma, dans la Nationalestraat. Ses intérieurs sont stylés, ludiques et pratiques. Les caractéristiques de son style reflètent sa philosophie.
Sa renommée sur la scène internationale a suivi de près la création de ‘Easyrider’ (pour Bulo). Ce meuble – qui est entre le bureau et la chaise de relaxation, alliant loisir et travail - lui valut de nombreuses récompenses, y compris le prestigieux ‘Prix Henri van de Velde’.
D’autres meubles qui portent sa signature sont :
la chaise pour massage ‘Man-Chi’, le mobilier de jardin ‘Screw’, l’ensemble pique-nique pour Coro, les sièges ‘Let’s Drop’ pour MNM, le ‘IceCube’ pour Extremis, le ‘D2V2’ pour Dark et bien entendu le sofa flottant ‘Dish’ pour Naked.


stand Archetype - Art Bruxelles

stand Illy - Art Bruxelles

bar Burdekin

exposition collective au Parlement des Flandres Flanders Design Icons

bar GPO level II

VIP night club bar GPO level II

boutique de chaussures Hatshoe

stand on Autosalon BXL Mini Concept Car

icecream bar Parmalat

exposition temporaire pour enfants Red Cross Asylum

exposition temporaire pour enfants Red Cross Terrorism

siège social Timberland

showroom Timberland

bar temporaire pour une exposition Tour & Taxis

exposition collective de design Transit

table Burdekin table

tabouret de bar Burdekin free standing

tabouret Q bar stool

siège de ralaxation Manchi

sac à main Delvaux

boîte à glace Ice cube

bureau-siège mobile Easy Rider

douche Screw collection

luminaire D2V2

poufs Let’s drop

canapé Dish

salon de relaxation / massage Manchi

boutique Fragma

loft Renato Braaf

exposition pour enfants St Jean de Monts

Top